A Tough Place

One of my biggest struggles in day to day life is being overwhelmed. I’m sure I’ve talked about this before, but I am so involved in so many different things that events and dates and times and assignments start to pile up so high that I don’t see a way out. I get frustrated, I get upset, and I get overwhelmed.

I get in this place every now and then when I am so overwhelmed by daily things and I am 100% positive that God will help me out, but I can’t see what step I need to take first. I fiddle with the situation in my head and I start making a mess of all of the things in front of me, dipping my foot into each one until finally, I’m done. My plans or responsibilities all unravel eventually and I feel relieved. All of this, of course, could not be done without God’s help, and I know that. And as soon as I can clear out the things that once overwhelmed my brain, I become extremely joyful and thank God for helping me out of those situations. But what about that tough place I was in? I continue to crawl back into it as life piles on top of me, over and over again. Why do I do this?

I look at it as a repetitive cycle. Step one: I get a lot of responsibilities and problems on my plate. Step two: it becomes too much and I get overwhelmed, frustrated, stressed, etc. Step three: I fall into the tough place once again, feeling hopeless and tired with everything. I struggle along with little hope for brightness in my near future and wait until I see a clearing. Step four: I take action (with God’s help) and the things at hand slowly clear away. Step five: everything is done, and I turn to God with thanks. Repeat.

I can tell this is a major problem for me as I wrote the beginning of this post in February and I’m feeling the exact same way as I finish this post in April. I try to pick apart my stress and not let it consume me, but even doing this isn’t what I should aim for. This is because God tells us to not worry. He says we shouldn’t be concerned with the little stuff (or even the big stuff). He will take care of us and He will support us. Matthew 6:33-34 says: “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” This is one of my favorite verses. But, my issue in this is not understanding it, but making it stick. I’m going to continue to work on accepting this and applying to my life while realizing God has and will always provide for me. 

Leave a Reply

