Greater

Jesus is better and greater than anything and everything we know. God is so good to us and sometimes we take that for granted by turning to worldly people or things instead of Him. There is a song called “Jesus is Better” and it really touched my heart this morning. Some of the lyrics that are below struck me and I really wanted to dig into them.

In all my sorrows, Jesus is better – make my heart believe.
Jesus is greater than all of your sorrows and can overcome anything. God will not place anything in your life that you and He can’t handle. I wish I knew this during some difficult moments in my life. Even when you feel hopeless or trapped, Jesus is greater and stronger than any worldly pain. Coming to Him with your struggles and sorrows will reinstate your hope in His plan. Something I know I’ve had difficulty with is remembering that God’s plan is ultimately in my best interest. Sometimes you think you want something to happen so much or you’re so absentmindedly distracted by worldly things that you forget to even talk with God or remember about His plan. I read something I really enjoyed pertaining to this in my daily Jesus Calling book that said: “I am working on your behalf. Bring Me all your concerns, including your dreams. Talk with me about everything, letting the Light of My Presence shine on your hopes and plans. Spend time allowing My Light to infuse your dreams with life, gradually transforming them into reality.” This is a beacon of hope and amazement for my future. I know I will have questions and dreams of my own, but bringing them to God will help make sense of everything going on in the present. We won’t always understand the things God puts in our lives, so bringing your hopes, questions, and dreams to Him will help you put everything together in the end.

In every victory, Jesus is better – make my heart believe.
Jesus wants to hear about all of the victories in your life.  He wants to celebrate with you. But, the love of God and the plan He has for you is greater than any worldly success. Bring Him your joys and happiness, but remember His plan contains so many more victories. The best victories we can experience involve growing closer to the Lord. He can provide the highest level of joy and peace that we could ever search for. Living a life walking in hand with God is the ultimate victory.

Than any comfort, Jesus is better – make my heart believe.
This is also something I wish I realized in tough points in my life. No worldly comfort can be greater than the love of our Creator. Things won’t always go according to our plans throughout life. When things take a turn and we feel crushed, turning to Christ is the most substantial form of comfort we can find. The love that Jesus can provide is better than anything you may be tempted to turn to in this world during moments where you feel lost or buried in sorrows. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 says: “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” God provides us with this comfort, not only to strengthen our faiths, but to be able to share it with others. Nothing in this world can provide nearly as much comfort and peace as God’s love.

More than all riches, Jesus is better – make my heart believe.
Jesus is better than any idol; whether it be money, possessions, status, etc. None of these things can provide you any permanent satisfaction. A relationship with the God is the only thing that can be of importance eternally. This world cannot provide anything that will completely fill a void or the pain you may be feeling. I have tried distracting myself from my aching heart to a point where I left my faith behind. I wish I had known that turning to Jesus with my heartache would help me grow to fill the hole that the hurt left behind. Nothing from this earth will truly make you feel complete.

It makes me so happy to know that God is on our side and that He has a specially designed plan for everyone I know and everyone I don’t. God is here for us and Jesus is better.

One thought on “Greater

Leave a Reply

