The Minor Details

Some of the biggest problems I have with my faith and in my daily actions are that I stress out far too easily and I overanalyze nearly everything (causing me to be stressed). Something that I’ve recently realized is that God doesn’t want me to spend my life thinking about every single action I do and stressing over the minor details in my daily life. He wants us to come to Him and rest in His love.

Resting with God can sound like a foreign thing. But, God calls us to come to Him, lay down your heart, and just rest. He allows us to stop sweating the minor details and says that He will figure everything out if we trust in His power and in His plan. If you have heavy burdens on your heart, find peace in knowing that you can breathe, pray, maybe close your eyes, and lay it all out to God. He will make everything right because He knows what is right.

I’ve gotten better at being able to realize when I’m getting too stressed out and I can take a moment to sit down, breathe, and pray. My prayer is often that God will help me give up these burdens to Him. But sometimes, it’s hard to catch yourself when you fall into the trap of overanalyzing details in your life. It feels like a maze when you start getting stressed out. You walk further and further into the maze only to stop halfway and realize that you’re in so deep you don’t know how to get out. There are two ways I’ve discovered to relieve this stress and to get out the maze. One is to have the event you’re stressing about occur. The second is to pray about it. Nice and easy. I think I like option two.

The incredible thing about God telling you not to worry is that He also provides a solution. He says to come and rest in His love and feel at peace in His presence. And then, He says to allow Him to have His way with your life and solve any issues that have been weighing upon your heart.

1 Peter 5:7 says: “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” Casting your stress or anxiety on God is exactly what we should do when we need help getting rid of our burdens. God cares for us so much that He will take on our stress and show us what He will do with it to make it right. He loves us so much that He makes this promise to us.

Psalm 62:1-2 says: “Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation, he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.” This is so important, it reminds us to rest with God because He is our salvation and when you give it all up to Him, you can never be shaken. When you have trust in the Lord, your soul can be at rest in Him. Nothing can destroy your world if you’re walking hand in hand in faith with God.

Trying not to worry about the minor details in your life can sound difficult. God will always be there to work through anything weighing you down. He will help you with issues in your life. He will carry them on His shoulders so you don’t have to feel crushed by worldly things. God says to come to Him and rest. Let Him work through the minor details.

Leave a Reply

