A Promise

Recently I’ve been asked to share my testimony and I’ve been trying to decide a good bible verse to share at the end of it to (hopefully) leave some sort of impact on the people I’m speaking to. I found one verse that I really like. I’m not sure that I’m going to use it, but it did get me thinking.

The verse is Isaiah 46:4 and it says: “I have made you. I will carry you; I will sustain you and I will rescue you.”

isaiah 46 4

Reflecting on this verse, one of the first things I thought was that this is such a beautiful promise. Sometimes we get the painful feeling that we’re all alone in life or that we have no one to turn to in our times of need. God in this verse is promising us that He is always here and that He will rescue you and protect you because you are one of His precious children. It’s amazing to hear that the one who literally created the universe with his own two hands cares about us. Not only does He care, He loves us so much that He made this comforting promise and intends to always keep it.

Promises are very important. God makes many of them to us. The thing about promises is that they require trust. We have to have trust in God that He will protect us during any storm. Trusting in God to decide your life plans and letting go of wanting to control everything can be tough. We just need to remember this promise and that everything will be okay when we just let go. The type of unending trust God wishes for you to have in Him can open your eyes to so many crazy, wonderful, amazing things He will do in your life.

I really wish that I had found this verse during some tough times that I’ve faced. Often, when I’m scared, confused, and feeling alone, I forget that the one who can provide the most comfort to me above any earthly person or distraction is God Himself. I turn to other people and try and distract myself from what’s going on, when the whole time the one I should’ve been letting my feelings out to is God. Sometimes it feels easier to turn to someone you can physically see and get an immediate response from when you’re feeling sad or scared. But, hearing this promise and knowing that God will always listen is the highest form of comfort you could ever receive. He will comfort you and He will make you strong again. He will protect you and guide you to where you need to be. He will provide for you every step of the way. Trust in His promise, because He loves us and will keep to His word.

Leave a Reply

