God’s Call

One (out of very many) cool things that God does is that He calls us to do things. For instance, recently God has called me to become more involved in my church’s youth group and to go into vocational ministry. Even more recently, God has called me to share my testimony and to be a small group leader at an upcoming church retreat for middle schoolers. I am so excited about this, if sharing my life story and being a discussion leader can impact these kids’ lives in any way, I would be so happy.

With these things coming up, it got me thinking about God’s call and how important it is to respond to God’s call. I wasted about a year last year after I originally felt God call me to ministry. I wasn’t pursuing being in ministry because of two things. One was that I had doubt that God was actually calling me to do this. The second was that I gave up. The school year rolled around and I stopped thinking about it. I regret that year, but the only thing I can do now is continue down this path and pay more attention when God is calling me.

If you feel God calling you to something and you’re not sure if it’s you or God in your head saying these things, pray about them. There will be a clear answer sooner or later. God always makes His plans for us so clear, we just have to be looking for them. When you notice a sign of a call from the Lord, it’s the most amazing and crazy thing and that moment will stick with you forever.

2 Peter 1:10 says: “Therefore, brethren, be all the more diligent to make certain about His calling and choosing you; for as long as you practice these things, you will never stumble,”

I love that verse, it is so true and so important. He has given us everything we need and has incredible plans for our lives. As long as you’re following the road God has paved for you and answering His call, you will never stumble. You will never lose your way and God will provide for you. He might be calling you right now, just listen.

Leave a Reply

